Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

A Fed July interest-rate cut isn’t a done deal

20 June, 2019

Frances Donold, Chief Economist, Head of Macroeconomic Strategy
 

On 19 June, The US Federal Reserve (Fed) kept interest rates unchanged, as expected, but held the door open for a rate cut in the coming months if the economic outlook for the US deteriorates. Frances Donald, Chief Economist and Head of Macroeconomic Strategy, believes that an interest-rate cut in July isn’t a done deal and investors should keep their eyes on September. She also identifies the key takeaways from Wednesday’s decision.

Wednesday’s communication from the Fed is consistent with our base case expectation of two rate cuts in the second half of 2019, beginning in September. It also adds to our conviction that the Fed is primarily concerned that ongoing uncertainty is damaging confidence and, by extension, business investment. It’s also likely that the Fed’s hoping to compile a dossier pointing to economic weakness so that it can credibly cut rates, but we don’t think enough weak economic data prints will present themselves in time for a July cut.

Overall, we feel the information we received from the Fed on Wednesday was more hawkish than the market reaction (or news headlines) implied.

How Wednesday’s Fed meeting influenced our market views 

  • We remain upbeat about global equities: Proactive rate cuts (i.e., early) have historically benefited the equities space more as opposed to reactive (i.e., late) rate cuts. At this point, we’re still in the “proactive” end of the spectrum.
  • We continue to believe that the US dollar will remain range-bound, with upside potential. While the Fed has made a dovish pivot, it’s largely priced into the US market1 and we see substantial scope for global central banks, particularly the European Central Bank and the People’s Bank of China, to engage in more aggressive easing activity in the next month—developments that could offset US dollar weakness.
  • We believe the Fed will have trouble delivering more rate cuts than what the fixed-income market has already priced in. However, should data deteriorate in the coming weeks, we think there’s scope for the Fed to act sooner and take bolder actions than what’s currently expected. 
  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all

Our primary takeaways1

 

1. The Fed still believes the US economy is still sound, but is worried about risks created by ongoing uncertainty

Fed Chair Jerome Powell repeatedly noted that the outlook for the US economy remains sound, highlighting that wages are rising, jobs are plentiful, and consumer confidence is high2 . The Fed’s concerns are related to what he refers to as two specific crosscurrents: trade tensions and global growth. In our view, these are one and the same. The deterioration in global trade activity has been substantially exacerbated by trade tensions and its affiliated uncertainty.

Interestingly, when Chair Powell was asked about whether a US-China trade deal would erase his concerns at Wednesday’s press conference, he highlighted that he cared more about the economy’s response to it. We take that to mean that the Fed is far more focused on whether economic activity is deteriorating because of policy uncertainty than the content of the policies. That implies the Fed will be hyper data dependent in the coming months, even if that phrase seems to have exited their more recent communication. We should be prepared for substantial volatility around key economic releases over the next several months. 

2. The case for a rate cut in July isn’t clear cut

At the press conference, Chair Powell made several references to the Fed’s need to “see more” to get a sense of how risks are weighing on US economic outlook—are they a blip in the road or a sign of more sustained weakness? Critically, he referenced the weak May jobs report (in which only 75,000 jobs were added during the month) and noted that the Fed typically requires three to six months’ worth of data to get a sense of the overall trend.

When asked if the Fed felt there were risks associated with cutting rates too early, Chair Powell suggested they didn’t feel the case for cuts was urgent. He also noted that there hadn’t been any support—save for one individual—for cutting rates at the June meeting. In our view, barring major developments, it’s difficult to see how the majority of the Fed’s voting members could swing from wanting to keep rates on hold in June to supporting a rate cut in the space of six weeks. This has strengthened our belief that the Fed won’t have enough conviction that the US economy is truly in need of stimulus until the September meeting. 

3. Market pricing remains disconnected from the Fed’s outlook

Upon closer examination, we thought the Fed’s dot plot3 held a few important nuggets:

  • The median dot plot is unchanged for 2019 as eight out of the seventeen officials expect to see rate cuts this year, another eight think rates should stay on hold during the period while one believes a rate hike would be appropriate. The median dot for 2020, however, indicated a consensus call for one interest-rate cut. This is completely inconsistent with what the markets have priced in—more than three interest cuts in the next 12 months4 . 
  • Seven of the eight Fed officials who believe rate cuts would be appropriate this year suggested two cuts instead of one. In other words, if the Fed were to cut rates, it’s unlikely to stop at one. An easing cycle, per this signal, is likely to comprise at least two interest-rate cuts.  
  • We also noted that the dot plot shows rate cuts are expected to be unwound by 2021, suggesting the Fed isn’t expecting a deep recession, but clearly sees the need for some near-term stabilisation. For those of us with longer-term forecasts, this has key implications.
  • Chair Powell highlighted that Fed officials who didn’t think rate cuts are needed this year noted that the case for cuts had strengthened: We believe this implies the dot plot is more dovish than it initially appears.  

4. The Fed’s economic projections don’t reflect the dot plot 

We were surprised by how little the Fed’s economic projections3 had changed. Indeed, GDP and unemployment were revised higher over the forecast period, long-run estimates of growth and unemployment were unchanged, and only core inflation was revised downward (mildly). If all we had received from the Fed on Wednesday were its projections, I would have believed this central bank was neutral to hawkish

More volatility

Chair Powell’s dovish tone, accompanied by a little-changed economic forecast, create a challenge for economists and markets: What is the Fed’s true decision-making function? Is it in flux? The inconsistency, in my own view, will create more volatility in the market and could risk longer-term credibility issues for the Fed. For now, however, Chair Powell can get away with claiming that the Fed’s views are consistent with its base case expectation of a healthy US economy, albeit one that faces significant downside risks. 


1 From the FOMC statement, forecasts, dot plot and press conference.

2 Source: Bloomberg, as of 19 June 2019.

3 Source: FOMC Press Conference, 19 June 2019.

4 Source: Projections, US Federal Reserve, 19 June 2019.

  • The Fed remains hawkish, but easing could occur before the end of 2023

    The Fed’s decision to raise US interest rates by 75 basis points to a target range of 3%-3.25% was well priced into the markets.We describe the factors contributing to the Fed’s increasingly hawkish tone and explain why easing could occur before the end of 2023.

    Read more
  • The high-yield market isn't signaling a recession

    Through the interest-rate volatility and higher inflation so far in 2022, we haven't seen a reason to abandon high yield. If anything, the higher-quality segment of this market could provide a welcome boost to a portfolio's risk-adjusted return potential.

    Read more
  • U.S. banks’ fundamentals continue to strengthen despite the economic slowdown

    The latest quarterly earnings reports from U.S. regional banks confirm the favorable investment outlook as loan growth and an improved interest-rate environment provide a tailwind for the industry, in our view.

    Read more
See all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

聯儲局 7 月減息並非最後定案

20/6/2019

Frances Donold, 首席經濟師
 

在美國時間 6 月 19 日,美國聯儲局一如所料維持利率不變,但就為減息打 開大門,指若經濟前景惡化,不排除在未來數月減息。宏利資產管理首席 經濟師兼資產配置團隊宏觀經濟策略部主管 Frances Donald 相信,聯儲局 7 月減息並非已成定局,投資者宜注視 9 月的議息會議。她又就聯儲局周 Frances Donald 三的決定作出重點分析。

聯儲局在周三發表的議息聲明,與我們的基本預測相符 -9 月出現首次減息,於 2019 年下半年共 減息兩次。聯儲局的主要憂慮是,不明朗因素持續導致市場信心被削弱,繼而影響企業投資,這亦加強我們的看法。此外,聯儲局可能希望收集反映經濟疲弱的數據,為減息提供理據,但我們認為在 7 月前經濟數據並未疲弱至足以促使當局減息。

整體而言,我們認為從聯儲局在周三所獲得的訊息可見,其政策立場較市場反應(或新聞標題)所 反映的強硬。

聯儲局周三的議息會議如何影響我們的市場觀點

  • 我們對環球股票保持樂觀:歷史數據可見,主動(即較早)減息較相對被動(即較遲)減息, 利好股票表現。現時,我們仍處於主動減息的區間。
  • 我們仍然相信美元將繼續在區間上落,並具上升潛力。雖然聯儲局的立場轉趨溫和,但美國市 場已大致反映有關因素 1,而我們認為環球央行(尤其是歐洲央行和中國人民銀行)擁有龐大的 空間,可於下月採取更進取的寬鬆措施,這些市場發展應可抵銷美元弱勢。
  • 我們相信聯儲局的減息次數,將難以超越固定收益市場所反映的減息次數。然而,若經濟數據 在未來數周惡化,我們認為聯儲局有空間提早採取行動,作出較目前預期更果斷的政策措施。
  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部

四項重點分析1

 

1. 聯儲局仍然相信美國經濟保持穩健,但憂慮不明朗因素持續可引發風險

聯儲局主席鮑威爾(Jerome Powell)重申,美國經濟前景仍然穩健,強調工資持續增長、市場 新增大量就業職位及消費信心高企2。聯儲局的憂慮與其所提及的兩股特殊抗衡趨勢相關:貿易 爭議及環球增長。然而,我們認為兩者如出一轍。貿易爭議及其相關的不明朗因素,使環球貿 易活動惡化的趨勢顯著加劇。

值得注意的是,在周三的新聞發布會上,當鮑威爾被問及若中美兩國簽定貿易協議會否掃除其 憂慮時,他指出更關注實體經濟對中美貿易協議的反應。我們認為這意味當局聚焦於政策陰霾 會否導致經濟活動惡化,遠多於有關的政策內容。這反映聯儲局在未來數月將極度依賴經濟數 據,即使最新的聯儲局聲明似乎已刪除有關用詞。投資者應對未來數月主要經濟數據大幅波動 作好準備。

2. 並無明確理據支持 7 月減息

鮑威爾在新聞發布會上,多次指出聯儲局需要「觀察更多(數據)」,藉此了解有關風險如何 使美國經濟前景受壓 - 究竟只是增長途中的小波折,抑或反映經濟進一步疲弱?關鍵的是,鮑 威爾引用 5 月份疲弱的就業報告(月內只增加 75,000 個職位),表示聯儲局一般需要參考三至 六個月的數據,才能總結整體趨勢。 

被問及聯儲局是否認為、部分風險與過早減息相關時,鮑威爾表示當局並不認為有急切減息的 理據。此外,他表示除了一名委員外,在 6 月份的議息會議未獲委員支持減息。我們認為,除 非出現重大的市場發展,否則難以推動大部分有投票權的聯儲局委員於六個星期內,由希望在 6 月份維持利率不變轉為支持減息。這使我們更加相信,在 9 月份的議息會議前,聯儲局未有確 實理據支持美國經濟真正需要刺激經濟措施。

3. 市場定價與聯儲局的預測仍然脫軌 

經過仔細分析,我們認為聯儲局的利率點陣圖3反映以下若干重點: 

  • 2019 年的利率點陣圖中位數維持不變,17 名聯儲局委員中有八名預期今年將會減息,八名認 為利率於期內應維持不變,另有一名主張加息一次。然而,2020 年的中位數卻顯示各委員的 共識是減息一次。這與市場價格反映未來 12 個月減息超過三次 1的看法截然不同。
  • 在八名認為今年應減息的聯儲局委員中,有七名表示應減息兩次而非一次。換言之,聯儲局 一旦減息,可能不止一次。根據這項訊息,在減息周期內可能出現至少兩次減息。 
  • 此外,利率點陣圖顯示預期到了 2021 年,減息行動將會逆轉,意味聯儲局預期經濟將不會 出現嚴重衰退,但短期內顯然仍須加以穩定。對於需要作出較長期預測的投資者來說,這一 點包含重要啟示。
  • 聯儲局主席鮑威爾指出,認為今年毋須減息的委員亦承認減息理據有所加強:我們認為這意 味利率點陣圖應比驟眼看來更溫和。 

4. 聯儲局的經濟預測與利率點陣圖不符 

聯儲局的經濟預測變化不大,令我們感到意外 4。事實上,國內生產總值和失業率在預測期內均向 上修訂,經濟增長及失業率的長期預測則維持不變,只有核心通脹率(溫和)向下修訂。若單憑聯 儲局在周三發表的預測來看,我認為當局的立場偏向中性至進取。 

市場更趨波動 

主席鮑威爾的言論溫和,加上經濟預測變化不大,令經濟學家和市場感到困擾:聯儲局決策的真正 功能是甚麼?是否經常出現變動?我認為聯儲局言論缺乏一致性,將導致市場更趨波動,長期而 言,可能對聯儲局的公信力構成威脅。目前,鮑威爾暫時尚可辯稱聯儲局的觀點與其基本預測一 致,即美國經濟保持穩健,儘管面臨重大下行風險。


1 聯儲局公開市場委員會聲明、預測、點陣圖及記者會。

2 聯邦公開市場委員會新聞發布會,2019 年 6 月 19 日 

3 聯儲局經濟預測, 2019 年 6 月 19 日。

4 Source: Projections, US Federal Reserve, 19 June 2019.

  • 聯儲局維持強硬立場,但可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策

    美國聯儲局決定加息75點子,聯邦基金利率目標區間升至3%-3.25%。市場已充份消化有關加息行動。我們剖析驅使聯儲局取態愈趨強硬的因素,以及解釋當局可能在2023年底前放寬貨幣政策的原因。

    閱讀更多
  • 高收益市場並未出現衰退跡象

    儘管2022年至今利率走勢出現波動及通脹趨升,但我們找不到避開投資高收益債券的理由。相反,高收益債券市場的較優質領域,可為投資組合大大提高經風險調整後回報的潛力。

    閱讀更多
  • 美國銀行業的基本因素繼續增強,無懼經濟放緩

    投資組合經理  Ryan P. Lentell 和高級投資組合經理 Susan A. Curry認為,美國地區性銀行的最新季度業績確認該行業的投資前景良好,因受惠於貸款增長和加息環境。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認