Skip to main content
Back
Select your role:
  • Individual Investor
  • Intermediary
  • Institutional investor

5 benefits of ESG investing

17 May 2022

Key points

  • The demand for Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) investing is surging
  • Investors in different life stages wish to align their personal values to their financial goals
  • Sustainable investing offers numerous benefits from financial returns to helping the planet and the community

The demand for ESG investing is surging

ESG investing may surpass US$53 trillion in assets by 2025 on growing demand from global investors.1 In Asia, the appetite for sustainable investments soared in China (up 80% in 2021) and in Japan (rose 34% in 2018-2020).2 Demand for responsible investing has also grown among pre-retirees who wish to align their personal values to their retirement goals (U.S. public pensions applied ESG factors to at least $3 trillion in assets in 2018)3.

ESG investing is becoming the new investment strategy that offers diverse benefits to investors of any kind.4 What can be gained from adopting a sustainable investment approach? We list the five key benefits of ESG investing.

1. ESG investments may deliver outperformance (especially during down markets)

Outperformance is measured in terms of relative performance. It could mean more gain and less loss when compared with a benchmark fund or standard index. Investee companies that integrate ESG more thoroughly are generally considered better-run from a governance perspective, which helps financial performance. Here’s why.

ESG-focused companies have sustainability strategies and tend to have better operational efficiency, cost savings, lower employee turnover, innovation, retained talent, reduced compliance costs, and risk management — all of which may help to increase shareholder value.5

As for funds that carry ESG labels, we found that they have tended to outperform over the medium to longer term.6 According to Morningstar, over the 10-year period through 2019, more than 58.8% of sustainable funds outperformed (delivered higher returns than) their average traditional peers.7 Furthermore, over 77% of these funds still exist today, while more than half (53%) of traditional funds have dissolved.8 Indeed, research shows that funds considering ESG factors were able to outlast and outperform their conventional, non-ESG counterparts.

What’s more, ESG funds have also shown resilience during periods of heightened market volatility. An MSCI study compared three global ESG indexes with the parent gauge, MSCI All Country World Index ACWI, during the first quarter of 2020 (the onset of the COVID-19 sell-off) and found that the ESG measures outperformed the traditional benchmark (MSCI ACWI) over the same period and onwards (See Chart 1).

Chart 1: Index performance of select MSCI ESG Indexes and MSCI All Country World Index

Source: Bloomberg data for 31 July 2017 – 31 March 2022. Cumulative total return (gross dividends) of indexes. MSCI All Country World (ACWI) index tracks broad global equity-market performance. MSCI ESG Universal Index represents an ESG weight-tilt approach, MSCI ESG Leaders a 50% best-in-class sector approach and MSCI Socially Responsible Investing (SRI) a 25% best-in-class sector approach. It is not possible to invest in an index.

2. Potential to help the environment and help solve climate change

In the past few decades, human activities have contributed to climate change, biodiversity loss and the erosion of the world’s wildlife, plants, and marine environments. Overall, public pressure is rising for corporates and governments to play more active roles on sustainability.

Investing in ESG-oriented companies can potentially help the environment and mitigate climate change. Green bonds, for example, are focused on environmental objectives, including reducing carbon emissions to improve air quality. As data from J.P. Morgan ESG Asia Credit Index (JESG JACI) vs. J.P. Morgan Asia Credit Index (JACI) demonstrate, the JESG JACI emitted less carbon dioxide (CO2) for every US$1 million of revenue generated, implying a milder environmental impact (See Chart 2). Another example is investing in a rail network company. Transport by rail can result in 75% less greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions than trucking, creating an opportunity to gain customers, comply with environmental regulatory changes, and reduce GHG footprints.

Chart 2: Carbon Intensity (Tons CO2e / $M revenues)

Source: Bloomberg, 31 December 2021. Figures shown are in gross USD terms. Carbon intensity data sourced via Trucost ESG Analysis and Manulife Investment Management. Carbon intensity refers to Scope 1- & 2-tons CO2 equivalent emissions per million USD revenues. It is not possible to invest in an index.

3. Understand and manage portfolio risks with strong governance and ethical companies

It may not be obvious, but the economy, businesses, and nature are all intertwined. The environment plays an integral part in the global supply chain. More than half of the world’s total GDP (almost US$44 trillion economic value generated) is broadly dependent on nature, particularly in sectors like construction, agriculture, and forestry. Investors may be better positioned to enhance portfolio resilience by understanding the hidden risks of biodiversity and nature loss and its impact on the economy and investments.

Investing in ESG-oriented companies may reduce overall investment risk, given those companies’ stronger relative governance practices and better business ethics. A growing number of initiatives like the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (UNPRI) are requiring members to exercise the fiduciary duty of incorporating ESG factors in their investment decisions. Meanwhile, more stock exchanges are requiring ESG disclosures; exchanges in Hong Kong (HKEX) and Singapore (SGX), for instance, require listed companies to file annual ESG reports. (See Chart 3)

Chart 3: ESG disclosures by Asia-Pacific stock exchanges

Source: CFA Institute, 2019. Note: There is no guidance on biodiversity disclosure for Hong Kong and Japan, and on health and safety for India. Singapore discloses on climate change adaptations in lieu of GHG emissions.

4. Another way to give back to the community and promote social responsibility

Historically, institutions and the wealthiest members of society have been the largest donors to philanthropic causes. These days, ESG investing offers more options for investors of any kind who are interested in making a positive social impact.

Investing in ESG-focused companies goes beyond financial returns, and places high priority on social benefits, such as protecting employee welfare and fostering relationships between businesses, shareholders, and communities.

From an employee’s standpoint, studies show that encouraging staff to act in a “prosocial” way correlates with higher job satisfaction and productivity (factors that play into mental health)9.

From a shareholder’s standpoint, a 2019 McKinsey study found that companies in the top quartile for diversity in gender or ethnicity on executive teams were 25 percent more likely to have above-average profitability than companies that had less diverse representation.10 (See Chart 4)

Chart 4: Likelihood of financial outperformance (%) by diversity of executive team

Source: McKinsey, 2019. 

 

Last but not least, from a customer’s standpoint, corporate social responsibility (CSR) can also help companies build customer loyalty. Numerous studies indicate U.S. millennials are more likely to buy brands that support social issues they care about. And for the younger generation under the age of 40, instead of donating money directly to social causes, they would prefer to give back through the places they shop.11

5. Companies with sustainability plans may be better prepared to meet long-term investment goals

The benefits of ESG investing are more likely to be realised over a longer-term investment horizon. Equally, ESG risks and the negative impacts of unsustainable practices on financial returns are more likely to emerge over longer timeframes.

In general, companies are exposed to assets that depreciate over time due to changes in regulation, social expectations, disruptive technology, or environmental conditions.12 In this regard, companies with sustainability plans may be better prepared to anticipate and adapt to ESG-related changes. For example, a fossil-fuel company may need to decommission and write-down assets, cancel projects and replace them with renewable programs. A beverage manufacturer may be liable for a city’s water scarcity, face consequential legal risks, reputational and punitive damages, and loss of public trust if it has inadequate CSR policies.  

Conclusion: Investors see the benefits of ESG investing

From new retail investors to experienced professionals to pre-retirees, people around the world are beginning to recognise the benefits of ESG investing. ESG is fast becoming a mainstream long-term investment strategy, which can help investors align their financial goals with their personal values, as well as build a better and sustainable world.

To learn more about ESG investing, explore our sustainability insights here.

 


1 Bloomberg, ESG assets may hit $53 trillion by 2025, a third of global AUM, 23 February 2021

2 Asia Asset Management, China sustainable fund assets soar to record high, 26 January 2022. Global Sustainable Investment Alliance, Global Sustainable Investment Review 2020

3 Center for Retirement Research at Boston College, ESG Investing and Public Pensions: An Update, October 2020

4 MSCI, Swipe to invest: the story behind millennials and ESG investing, March 2020

5 NYU Stern, ESG and Financial Performance: Uncovering the Relationship by Aggregating Evidence from 1,000 Plus Studies Published between 2015 – 2020

6 Note: We consider that the integration of sustainability risks in the decision-making process is an important element in determining long-term performance outcomes and is an effective risk mitigation technique. Our approach to sustainability provides a flexible framework that supports implementation across different asset classes and investment teams. While we believe that sustainable investing will lead to better long-term investment outcomes, there is no guarantee that sustainable investing will ensure better returns in the longer term.  In particular, by limiting the range of investable assets through the exclusionary framework, positive screening and thematic investment, we may forego the opportunity to invest in an investment which we otherwise believe likely to outperform over time.

7 Morningstar analysis across seven categories: global large cap blend equity, global large cap growth market equity, global emerging markets equity, US large cap blend equity, Europe large cap blend equity, Eurozone large cap equity, EUR corporate bond.

8 Morningstar, Do Sustainable Funds Beat their Rivals?, 16 June 2020

9 Occupational & Environmental Medicine Journal, Manchester Business School paper: The relationship between job satisfaction and health: a meta-analysis, 2005

10 McKinsey, How diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I) matter, 2019

11 Forbes, Why Giving Back Increases Brand Loyalty, 10 June 2019

12 Ernst & Young, Tomorrow’s Investment Rules 2.0, 2015

  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing. A diversified portfolio was shown to have the ability to optimize returns with lower volatility in the long run. Divergence in the performance of portfolios can be attributed to asset allocation.

    Read more
  • What is ESG investing?

    Sustainability and environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are increasingly front of mind for many Asian investors. We explain what ESG investing is, its benefits and drawbacks and what it means for investors.

    Read more
  • Dollar cost averaging: An easier way to navigate volatile markets

    If investors wish to reduce volatility and benefit from long-term growth when the markets move up and down, the passive strategy of dollar cost averaging may be a feasible choice.

    Read more
See all
  • Diversification

    There is no free lunch. But Diversification comes close in investing. A diversified portfolio was shown to have the ability to optimize returns with lower volatility in the long run. Divergence in the performance of portfolios can be attributed to asset allocation.

    read more
  • What is ESG investing?

    Sustainability and environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are increasingly front of mind for many Asian investors. We explain what ESG investing is, its benefits and drawbacks and what it means for investors.

    read more
  • Dollar cost averaging: An easier way to navigate volatile markets

    If investors wish to reduce volatility and benefit from long-term growth when the markets move up and down, the passive strategy of dollar cost averaging may be a feasible choice.

    read more
see all
Confirm

跳到主要内容
返回
選擇你的身份:
  • 個人投資者
  • 中介
  • 機構投資者

ESG投資的五大好處

17/5/2022

重點

  • 環境、社會及企業管治(ESG)投資的需求正在飆升
  • 處於不同人生階段的投資者均希望他們的個人價值觀與理財目標保持一致
  • 可持續投資能提供多項好處,包括投資上的回報,以至保護地球和回饋社會

ESG投資需求飆升

隨著環球投資者需求日增,ESG投資的資產在2025年或超越53萬億美元。1 亞洲方面,中國(在2021年升80%)和日本(2018年至2020年期間升34%)對可持續投資的需求大增。希望個人價值觀與退休目標保持一致的準退休人士,對責任投資的需求亦日益殷切(美國公共退休金在2018年對至少3萬億美元資產的投資加入ESG因素)3

ESG投資逐漸成為一種可為任何類型投資者提供多項好處的嶄新投資策略。4採取可持續投資策略能帶來甚麼裨益? 我們列出ESG投資的五項主要好處。

1. ESG投資或能夠締造領先表現(尤其在跌市期間)

領先表現以相對表現量度,因此可能表示相對指標基金或基準指數的回報較高,或虧損較少。就管治而言,投資對象(企業)若更全面地整合ESG因素,普遍被視為經營管理較佳,有助其財務表現。原因包括:

以ESG為本企業具備可持續策略,通常在營運效率、節省成本、減少員工流失、創新、挽留人才、降低合規成本和風險管理方面表現較佳,全部皆有助提升股東價值。5  

我們發現以ESG為名的基金,其中期至長期表現通常較為優秀。6 根據晨星,在截至2019年止的十年期間,超過58.8%的可持續基金表現優於(回報高於)一般傳統基金。7 此外,超過77%的可持續基金時至今日仍然存在,但一半以上(53%)的傳統基金已經清盤。8 事實上,研究反映包含ESG因素的基金較傳統非ESG基金的壽命較長,而且表現較佳。

此外,ESG基金在市場反覆波動期間表現韌性。一項MSCI明晟研究比較了2020年第一季期間(新型冠狀病毒疫情觸發市場拋售)三項環球ESG指數,與指標MSCI明晟所有國家世界指數的表現,發現ESG指數在同期及往後期間的表現均優於傳統基準(MSCI明晟所有國家世界指數)(見圖1)。

圖1:個別MSCI明晟ESG指數與MSCI明晟所有國家世界指數的表現

資料來源:彭博資訊,數據由2017年7月31日至2022年3月31日。指數的累積總回報(總股息)。MSCI明晟所有國家世界指數追蹤廣泛的環球股市表現。MSCI明晟全ESG指數為一項偏重ESG的指數,MSCI明晟世界ESG龍頭指數涵蓋業內50%表現最佳公司,MSCI明晟社會責任投資指數涵蓋業內25%表現最佳公司。投資者不可直接投資於指數。

2. 協助改善環境和解決氣候變化問題的機會

在過去數十年,人類活動造成氣候變化、生物多樣性受損,以及全球野生動物、植物和海洋環境受到破壞。整體而言,企業和政府正面對更多公眾壓力,要求它們更積極推動可持續發展。

投資於以ESG為本的公司或能夠協助改善環境,並緩減氣候變化。舉例而言,綠色債券以環境目標為焦點,包括減少碳排放以改善空氣質素。從摩根大通ESG亞洲信貸指數對比摩根大通亞洲信貸指數的數據可見,前者每締造100萬美元收入所排放的二氧化碳量較少,意味其對環境的影響較溫和(見圖2)。投資於鐵路網絡公司是另一個例子。鐵路運輸所排放的溫室氣體較貨車少75%,並可創造機遇吸納客戶、遵從環境監管變動,同時減低溫室氣體足跡。

圖2:碳排放濃度(公噸二氧化碳當量/每百萬美元收入)

資料來源:彭博資訊,2021年12月31日。呈列數據為美元總額。碳排放濃度數據由Trucost ESG Analysis和宏利投資管理提供。碳排放濃度是指範圍1及範圍2中每百萬美元收入產生的公噸二氧化碳當量。投資者不可直接投資於指數。

3. 了解投資組合風險,透過嚴謹的企業管治和物色具道德的企業以管理有關風險

大家或許不察覺,經濟、企業和大自然之間其實是息息相關。環境在全球供應鏈中扮演關鍵角色。全球國內生產總值總額超過一半(接近44萬億美元的經濟價值)非常依賴大自然,尤其在建築、農業和林業等領域。投資者若能夠理解喪失生物多樣性和大自然所構成的隱藏風險,以及其對經濟和投資的影響,將更能夠提升投資組合的韌性。

投資於以ESG為本的公司或降低整體投資風險,因為它們的管治實務守則相對嚴謹,而且商業道德較佳。愈來愈多倡議,例如聯合國責任投資原則,均要求成員承擔受信責任,在投資決策中納入ESG因素。與此同時,更多股票交易所要求公司披露ESG資料。以香港交易所和新加坡交易所為例,兩者均要求上市公司每年提交ESG報告。(見圖3)。

圖3:亞太區股票交易所披露的ESG資料

資料來源:特許財務分析師協會,2019年。註:香港和日本並無生物多樣性的披露指引,而印度則沒有健康和安全方面的披露指引。新加坡要求披露氣候變化的應對措施,以代替溫室氣體排放量。

4. 回饋社會和推動社會責任的另一途徑

過往,最慷慨的慈善捐款普遍來自機構和社會上最富裕的人士。時至今日,ESG投資為希望作出正面社會貢獻的各類投資者提供更多選擇。

投資於以ESG為本的公司不僅是為了賺取回報,同時亦非常著重社會裨益,例如保障員工福利,以及促進企業、股東與社區之間的關係。

從僱員的立場來看,研究發現鼓勵員工作出「親社會」行為與提升工作滿足感和生產力之間具相關性(影響精神健康的因素)9

從股東立場來看,一項2019年麥肯錫研究發現,在管理團隊性別或種族多元性方面處於首四分位的企業,盈利能力高於平均的可能性相比多元性較低的公司高25%。10 (見圖4)。

 

圖4:締造優秀財務表現的可能性(%,按管理團隊多元性劃分)

資料來源:麥肯錫,2019年。

 

此外,從客戶立場來看,企業社會責任有助企業建立客戶忠誠度。多項研究反映,美國的千禧世代傾向購買支持他們所關注社會議題的品牌產品。至於40歲以下的較年輕一代,與其直接向社會事業捐款,他們寧可透過其光顧的商店回饋社會。11

5. 具備可持續計劃的公司或更有能力實現長遠投資目標

ESG投資的好處較可能於較長投資年期內體現。同樣,ESG風險與不可持續的實務守則對財務回報的負面影響,也較可能於較長年期內浮現。

一般而言,監管條例、社會期望、顛覆性科技或環境條件的變化,導致企業資產隨著時間而貶值。12 就此而言,具備可持續計劃的公司或更有能力預測和適應與ESG相關的變動。例如一家石油企業需要將資產報廢和撇帳、取消項目,並以可再生能源計劃取而代之。一家飲品製造商的企業社會責任政策若不夠完善,可能需要為城市缺水負責,面對由此衍生的法律風險、聲譽與懲罰性損害賠償,並可能失去公眾信任。

總結:投資者意識到ESG投資的好處

從零售投資者初哥、資深專業投資者,以至準退休人士,全世界均開始意識到ESG投資的好處。ESG正迅速成為主流的長線投資策略,有助投資者的理財目標與個人價值觀保持一致,同時建設更美好和可持續的世界。

如欲更深入了解ESG投資,請按此閱覽我們的可持續發展觀點。

 


1 彭博資訊,ESG assets may hit $53 trillion by 2025, a third of global AUM,2021年2月23日。

2 《亞洲資產管理》雜誌,China sustainable fund assets soar to record high,2022年1月26日。全球可持續投資聯盟,Global Sustainable Investment Review 2020。

3 美國波士頓學院退休研究中心,ESG Investing and Public Pensions: An Update,2020年10月。

4 MSCI明晟,Swipe to invest: the story behind millennials and ESG investing,2020年3月。

5 美國紐約大學史登商學院,ESG and Financial Performance: Uncovering the Relationship by Aggregating Evidence from 1,000 Plus Studies Published between 2015 – 2020

6 註:我們認為在決策過程中納入可持續風險是釐定長期表現成果的重要元素,亦是有效降低風險的技巧。 我們的可持續策略提供靈活框架,能應用於不同資產類別和投資團隊。儘管我們相信可持續投資能締造較佳的長遠投資成果,但不能保證其必定能取得較佳的長遠回報。具體而言,透過排除框架、正面篩選和主題投資以限制可投資資產範圍,我們可能會放棄一些我們認為長期可望表現出色的投資機會。

7 晨星分析涵蓋七個類別:環球大型股混合股票、環球大型股增長市場股票、環球新興市場股票、美國大型股混合股票、歐洲大型股混合股票、歐元區大型股票,以及歐元企業債券。

8 晨星,Do Sustainable Funds Beat their Rivals?,2020年6月16日。

9 職業與環境醫學期刊,英國曼徹斯特商學院文章:The relationship between job satisfaction and health: a meta-analysis,2005年。

10 麥肯錫,How diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I) matter,2019年。

11 福布斯,Why Giving Back Increases Brand Loyalty,2019年6月10日。

12 安永,Tomorrow's Investment Rules 2.0,2015年。

  • 分散投資

    世上沒有免費午餐。但「分散投資」 被視為接近 免費的午餐。分散的投資組合能夠優化長線回報,同時降低波幅,而資產配置是投資組合表現分歧的主因之一。 

    閱讀更多
  • 何謂ESG投資?

    可持續發展與ESG(環境、社會及企業管治)已成為許多亞洲投資者日益看重的首要考慮因素。我們將解釋何謂ESG投資、其優劣及對投資者的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
  • 分散投資

    世上沒有免費午餐。但「分散投資」 被視為接近 免費的午餐。分散的投資組合能夠優化長線回報,同時降低波幅,而資產配置是投資組合表現分歧的主因之一。 

    閱讀更多
  • 何謂ESG投資?

    可持續發展與ESG(環境、社會及企業管治)已成為許多亞洲投資者日益看重的首要考慮因素。我們將解釋何謂ESG投資、其優劣及對投資者的意義。

    閱讀更多
  • 輕鬆駕馭波動市 善用平均成本法

    面對波動市況,如投資者想減低波幅,參與具長線增長潛力的投資,或可考慮採取全自動的投資策略 ── 平均成本法。

    閱讀更多
查看全部
確認